Discover Provence - Avignon

Discover Provence - Maison carée (Nîmes)

Discover Provence - In Camargue

Discover Provence - Roman Aqueduct at Pont du Gard

Discover Provence - Lavender in Valensole

Discover Provence - Gordes

Our region - The Classics

In the heart of a region that has been richly endowed by Nature and History, here are a few proposals of sites and activities, within a one-hour drive from our house.

From the times when Provence was Provincia Romana, we inherited so many monuments that trying to list them all would be a tedious exercise. Some became silent museums (Roman aqueduct at Pont du Gard, Maison Carée - a roman temple in the heart of Nîmes, the Antiques at Saint Rémy de Provence, and so many others) but Roman amphitheatres and circuses are still vibrant: Festivals in Orange and Vaison la Romaine, "ferias" in Arles and Nîmes

From the Middle-Ages and the Renaissance, we got the fortified village of les Baux, the city walls of Avignon, the Papal Palace and the old bridge "Pont d'Avignon", the Senanque Abbey, but also historic cities and villages, such as Carpentras, Pernes les Fontaines, Gordes, the villages of Luberon...

From Mother Nature, we got Mont Ventoux (our "Giant of Provence" 1912 m / 6300 ft.), the strange Fontaine de Vaucluse, the ochre cliffs near the village of  Rousillon, the cedar forest of Luberon.

Looking for cities, of course, there is Marseille, a place with a quite unique personality, but also the proud city of Aix en Provence, Uzès (don't miss the Museum of Sweets - Yes, you know, the Haribo gummy candies!), Arles with memories of Vincent Van Gogh, the antique dealers of Isle sur la Sorgue...

Gastronomy follows the seasons, think about wine tasting in the prestigious vineyards of Côtes du Rhône (Châteauneuf du Pape, Gigondas, Vacqueyras, Beaumes-de-Venise), but also the surprising young winemakers... the gastronomic brotherhoods celebrating black truffle, asparagus, melon, even garlic (!)...

And of course the Theatre Festival in Avignon, which turns the entire city into a giant stage in July.

And if you are ready to venture further, let's say a 90-minute drive, you will discover the beaches of Languedoc, the Calanques (inlets) of Cassis, the Camargue, the region around Manosque and Forcalquier, etc.

It will be our pleasure to give you suggestions and advice, in accordance with your tastes and desires.

Découvrir la Provence - Avignon

Découvrir la Provence - Maison carée de Nîmes

Découvrir la Provence - En Camargue

Découvrir la Provence - Le Pont du Gard

Découvrir la Provence - Le plateau de Valensole

Découvrir la Provence - Gordes

La région - Les Classiques

Au cœur d'une région richement dotée par la nature et par l'histoire, voici quelques thèmes de promenades et de découvertes, à une heure au plus de notre maison.

Du temps où la Provence était la Province Romaine, nous possédons encore tant de monuments qu'il serait fastidieux d'en faire la liste. Si certains ont été sanctifiés en musées (le Pont du Gard, la Maison Carrée de Nîmes, les Antiques de Saint Rémy, et tant d'autres), théâtres antiques et arènes continuent de vibrer comme autrefois : Orange et ses Chorégies, Vaison-la-Romaine et ses festivals, Arles et Nîmes et leurs ferias.

Le Moyen-Age et la Renaissance nous ont apporté le château de Baux, les remparts d'Avignon, le Palais des Papes, le pont Saint Bénézet, l'abbaye de Sénanque, mais aussi les cités historiques de Carpentras, Pernes-les-Fontaines, Gordes et ses bories, les villages du Luberon...

Côté Nature, citons le Mont Ventoux, le "Géant de Provence" qui veille sur nous, l'étrange Fontaine de Vaucluse, les falaises d'ocre de Roussillon, le "Colorado provençal", la forêt de cèdres du Luberon.

Côté villes, il y a bien sûr Marseille "inclassable et unique" (Attention ! Jean est Marseillais...), mais aussi la fière Aix-en-Provence, Uzès (et son musée du bonbon - mais oui, les bonbons Haribo !), Arles et le souvenir de Vincent Van Gogh et de Frédéric Mistral, l'Isle-sur-la-Sorgue et ses antiquaires...

Côté gastronomie, selon les saisons, pensez aux dégustations des prestigieux vignobles des Côtes du Rhône (Châteauneuf du Pape, Gigondas, Vacqueyras, Beaumes-de-Venise), mais aussi aux étonnants nouveaux vignerons, aux fêtes des Confréries gourmandes, dont les chevaliers glorifient l'arrivée de la truffe, de l'asperge, du melon, de l'ail...

Et bien sûr, le festival de théâtre d'Avignon, qui transforme la ville entière en une immense scène vivante durant le mois de juillet.

Et si vous êtes prêts à allonger votre temps de trajet jusqu'à une heure et demie, vous pourrez découvrir les plages du Languedoc, les calanques de Cassis, la Camargue, les Alpes de Haute-Provence (Jean continue de dire avec affection "les Basses-Alpes"), les Cévennes...

Quand vous serez avec nous, nous aurons plaisir à vous guider et vous conseiller dans la découverte de la région, selon vos goûts et vos envies.